U of A alumna named State Department science and technology fellow

Photo submitted

Courtney Hill

The American Association for the Advancement of Science recently named University of Arkansas alumnus Courtney Hill a member of science and technology policy. During her one-year fellowship, Hill will help inform actionable, science-based policies for the US State Department.

Hill currently works as a program officer at the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine. A graduate with honors from the College of Engineering, Hill majored in civil engineering with a minor in sustainability.

Previously, she was a Fulbright English teaching assistant and completed her doctoral studies as a National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellow. She is one of 300 highly qualified scientists and engineers to be selected into the 50th class of AAAS Policy Fellows.

As a fellow, Hill will gain first-hand experience in federal policy development and implementation, while contributing her expertise to the work of the US State Department.

“Throughout my career, I have had the privilege of working with scientists from all over the world. Seeing the impacts of these collaborations instilled in me the importance of science in multilateral affairs,” Hill said. “This fellowship will allow me to work at the heart of science diplomacy and gain an invaluable network of other fellows with a STEM background interested in politics.”

“AAA Policy Fellows have demonstrated excellence in science policy over the past half-century – defining what it means to be a scientist and engineer in the field of policy making,” Rashada said. Alexander, Director of the Science and Technology Policy Fellowship Program and former fellow. . “In our 50th year of partnership with the U.S. government and many esteemed scientific societies and supporters, we are thrilled to usher in the new class and follow their important contributions to politics, science, and society.”

In addition to her professional duties, Hill is a guest advisor for the Office of National Competitive Awards at the University of Alberta, where she supports the office’s work with high-achieving students applying for prestigious awards in STEM fields. of science, technology, engineering and mathematics.

“Dr. Hill has done a terrific job for our office,” said Suzanne McCray, Vice Provost for Enrollment and Dean of Admissions and Nationally Competitive Awards. students of the Fulbright US Student Scholarship as well as the NSF Graduate Fellowship. Students at the U of A are fortunate to benefit from his expertise. We are very proud of his many accomplishments, which now include his selection as an AAAS Politics Fellow, she is well deserving of this national recognition.

The Science & Technology Policy Fellow program supports evidence-based policymaking by leveraging the knowledge and analytical minds of science and engineering experts, and develops leaders for a strong American science and technology enterprise. Fellows represent a full range of disciplines, backgrounds and career stages.

The 2022-23 class of scholarship is sponsored by the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the Moore Foundation, and corporate partners. Of the 300 fellows selected, 31 will serve in Congress, one in the Federal Judicial Center and 268 in the executive branch among 19 federal agencies or departments.

After scholarship, many remain in the political arena working at the federal, state, regional, or international level, while others pursue careers in academia, industry, or the nonprofit sector.

Founded in 1973, the STPF program will be 50 years old in 2023. AAAS will celebrate this milestone as STPF establishes a formal alumni network – approximately 4,000 people – to stimulate and support collaboration among alumni to continue STPF’s mission to connect evidence-based decisions. do with public policy.

Visit www.aaas.org/stpf to learn more about AAAS S&T Policy Fellowships.

About the American Association for the Advancement of Science: The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) is the world’s largest general science society and the publisher of the journal Scienceas good as Science Translational Medicine; Scientific signage; an open-access digital journal, Scientists progress; Sciences Immunology; and Scientific robotics. AAAS was founded in 1848 and includes more than 250 affiliated societies and academies of science, serving 10 million people. Science has the largest paid circulation of any peer-reviewed general science journal in the world. The nonprofit AAAS is open to everyone and fulfills its mission to “advance science and serve society” through science policy initiatives, international programs, science education, public engagement, etc. For more information about AAAS, please visit www.aaas.org.

About the University of Arkansas: As Arkansas’ flagship institution, the U of A offers an internationally competitive education in more than 200 academic programs. Founded in 1871, the U of A contributes more than $2.2 billion to the Arkansas economy through the teaching of new knowledge and skills, entrepreneurship and employment development, discovery through research and creative activity while providing training in professional disciplines. The Carnegie Foundation ranks the U of A among the few American colleges and universities with the highest level of research activity. US News and World Report ranks the U of A among the top public universities in the nation. Learn how the U of A is working to build a better world at Arkansas Research News.

Comments are closed.