Seven Ohio State Scientists Named AAAS Fellows

The 2021 class of American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) Scholars includes seven Ohio State University scholars from the Colleges of Arts and Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine.

The AAAS Fellowship, which recognizes scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications, is one of the most prestigious honors an American scientist can receive. Fellows are elected by their academic peers.

“The venerable tradition of American Association for the Advancement of Science fellowships includes such acclaimed scientists as sociologist WEB Du Bois, anthropologist Margaret Mead, and astronaut Ellen Ochoa,” said the president of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. Ohio State, Kristina M. Johnson. “As a scientist myself, I am honored on behalf of every member of the Ohio State community who has been selected to join this distinguished group of scientists, researchers, engineers, and innovators. The range of accomplishments and contributions of our new AAAS Fellows illustrates how vital innovation and discovery are to enriching lives and building a better world.

The 2021 class of AAAS Fellows includes 564 scientists, engineers, and innovators spanning 24 scientific disciplines.

The new Ohio State Scholars are:

  • Bear Braumoeller, professor of political science. For his distinguished contributions to the fields of political methodology, social science theory, and applied policy analysis.
  • Joshua Goldberger, professor of chemistry and biochemistry. For his distinguished contributions to the field of materials chemistry, particularly for the development of new two-dimensional and layered materials with applications in electronics.
  • Dorota Grejner-Brzezinska, professor of civil, environmental and geodetic engineering. For his distinguished contributions in the field of positioning, navigation and timing with specific applications to personal navigation, autonomous mobility and navigation in non-GPS environments.
  • Ayanna Howard, dean of the College of Engineering and professor of electrical and computer engineering. For his significant contributions to human-robot interaction and for improving access and equity through artificial intelligence technologies.
  • Zihai Li, director of the Pelotonia Institute for Immuno-Oncology and professor of medical oncology. For his distinguished contributions to the field of molecular immunology, in particular the roles of heat shock protein 96 in chaperone biology, cancer progression, immune response and tolerance.
  • Michael Annan Lisa, professor of physics. For his development of azimuth-sensitive femtoscopy for relativistic heavy ion collisions and his discovery, via global polarization measurements, of the unprecedented vorticity of the quark-gluon plasma created in such collisions.
  • Harvey Miller, professor of geography. For new, sustained and impactful research on the analytical geography of time, the science of GIS and spatial analysis in a data-rich world, and sustainable mobility.

New scholarship recipients will be celebrated later this year at an in-person gathering when possible from a public health and safety perspective.

‘, ‘window.fbAsyncInit = function() {‘, ‘FB.init({‘, ‘appId:’216372371876365′,’, ‘xfbml:true,’, ‘version: ‘v2.6” , ‘});’ ]; ppLoadLater.placeholderFBSDK.push(‘};’); var ppFacebookSDK= [
‘(function(d, s, id) {‘,
‘var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0];’, ‘if (d.getElementById(id)) return;’, ‘js = d.createElement(s); = id;’, ‘js.src = “”;’, ‘fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs);’, ‘}( document, ‘script’, ‘facebook-jssdk’));’ ]; ppLoadLater.placeholderFBSDK = ppLoadLater.placeholderFBSDK.concat(ppFacebookSDK); ppLoadLater.placeholderFBSDK.push(‘‘); ppLoadLater.placeholderFBSDK = ppLoadLater.placeholderFBSDK.join(“n”);

Comments are closed.